MIDDLE SCHOOL
About Us
Administration
Cafeteria
Clubs
Curriculum
Art
Computer Technology
English
FACS
Foreigh Language
Geography
Gifted
Health/PhysEd
Math
Music
Reading/Study Skills
Science
Social Studies
Special Education
Technology
Library
News & Events
PAC
Services
Special Education
Resources
Staff Directory
Forms & Publications

READING & STUDY SKILLS

Reading:
Reading is a seventh-grade course that meets six times per cycle for the entire year.  The curriculum is aligned with the Pennsylvania State Standards for Reading with a focus on comprehension, analysis, and interpretation of fiction and non-fiction text. 

Reading Intervention Classes:
The Middle School offers reading intervention classes for those students who demonstrate a need for more intensive instruction in the area of reading.  Students are recommended for these classes based on the collection and analysis of data, including the PSSA, 4Sight, DIBELS and AIMSweb assessments. These classes meet three times per six-day cycle in grade 7, and six days per cycle in grade 8. In grade 7, the reading intervention class is scheduled in place of FCS/Tech-Ed, and in place of Exploratory Foreign Language in
grade 8. 
The purpose of the reading intervention class is to provide additional instruction for students who are not meeting grade level benchmarks in reading. The intent is to provide more individualized instruction based on student need to close the gap and bring students to grade level proficiency. 
Progress is monitored on a regular basis throughout the duration of the course. Students can be exited from the program if their data suggests they have reached their expected proficiency level. In addition, students can be added to the intervention class during the school year, if the need exists.
Rebecca Boyer, rboyer@gmsd.k12.pa.us
Sue Bufe, sbufe@gmsd.k12.pa.us
Jennifer Caron, jcaron@gmsd.k12.pa.us
Maria Rapchinski, mrapchinski@gmsd.k12.pa.us
Allison Wright, awright@gmsd.k12.pa.us

Math Intervention Classes: the Middle School offers math intervention classes for those students who demonstrate a need for more intensive instruction in the area of mathematics.  Students are recommended for these classes based on the collection and analysis of data, including the PSSA, 4Sight, and AIMSweb assessments. These classes meet three times per six-day cycle, and are scheduled in place of elective courses. 

The purpose of the math intervention class is to provide additional instruction for students who are not meeting grade level benchmarks in math. The intent is to provide more individualized instruction based on student need to close the gap and bring students to grade level proficiency. 

Progress is monitored on a regular basis throughout the duration of the course. Students can be exited from the program if their data suggests they have reached their expected proficiency level. In addition, students can be added to the intervention class during the school year, if the need exists.
Joel Calata, jcalata@gmsd.k12.pa.us

 
 
Governor Mifflin Middle School MR. KEVIN HOHL, principal
 
  home | viewing recommendations | disclaimer | credits | contact  
 

copyright © 2014 GMSD. All rights reserved.