Back to homepage


American Red Cross Learn-to-Swim Program

The six levels of Learn-to-Swim instruction help swimmers of all ages and varying abilities develop their swimming and water safety skills. The American Red Cross Learn-to-Swim Curriculum is used for these classes, which is designed to reach aquatic and safety skills in a logical progression, while providing students with a positive learning experience.

Learn-to-Swim Level 2 – Fundamental Aquatic Skills
There are no prerequisites for this level.   The objective of Level 2 is to give participants success with fundamental skills. Participants learn to float without support and to recover to a vertical position. This level marks the beginning of true locomotion skills. Participants continue to explore simultaneous and alternating arm and leg actions on the front and back to lay the foundation for future strokes.               

Learn-to-Swim Level 3 – Stroke Development
Participants entering this course must have a level 2 certificate or must be able to demonstrate all the completion requirements in Level 2. The objectives of Level 3 are for participants to learn the survival float, the elementary backstroke and to coordinate the front crawl. They are introduced to the scissors kick and dolphin kick and build on the fundamentals of treading water. Participants also learn rules for headfirst entries and begin to learn to enter the water headfirst from the side of the pool.

Advanced Swim Lessons (Learn-to-Swim Levels 4, 5, 6)

These classes are a continuation in the American Red Cross Learn-to-Swim Curriculum. All classes are instructed by a certified Water Safety Instructor. Students will learn advanced skills and strokes such as the sidestroke, breaststroke and butterfly. To enroll in an advanced course, the student must have successfully passed the previous course. Red Cross cards showing that the course was successfully completed should be shown at registration. Come to the season appropriate registration to register.

Level 4            Stroke Improvement (Must have passed level 3)
Level 5            Stroke Refinement (Must have passed level 4)
Level 6            Fitness Swimmer (Must have passed level 5)
                        Fundamentals of Diving (Must have passed level 5)

Adult Learn to Swim Class

These classes are for adults interested in learning how to swim. The beginner class will work on fundamental aquatic skills. The intermediate class will work on stroke development. Both classes are instructed by a certified Water Safety Instructor. Come to the season appropriate registration to register.

Governor Mifflin Athletics

Kyle Kuser, Aquatics Director
Phone: 610-775-5083 x. 5565

GMSD Athletics on Twitter